Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-30-2009, 03:16 PM   #1

B & W Film Rules/Adages?

I'm completely new to film photography and after scouring the web for best practices and/or tips I am now more confused than when I started. Here's some nuggets (or duds) that I don't know what to do with:

*Learn the zone system? Don't learn the zone system?
*Expose for shadows and develop for highlights? Or, expose for highlights and develop for shadows? (Developing part won't apply to me since I'll be sending it out)
*Light meter everything? Forget light metering!

I know, I know... "just go out and shoot." I promise I will. I just need some advice to move me in the right direction.

So how about it friends? Waddya got?

03-30-2009, 03:18 PM   #2
Veteran Member

expose for the shadows, the film has plenty of dynamic range to retain highlights
because of the wide exposure lattitude, just use what your camera suggest with some common sense and the results should be good.

once you have more practice, you can try to get gutsy and go meterless sunny 16
03-30-2009, 07:30 PM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by soundview Quote

*Learn the zone system? Don't learn the zone system?
*Expose for shadows and develop for highlights? Or, expose for highlights and develop for shadows? (Developing part won't apply to me since I'll be sending it out)
*Light meter everything? Forget light metering!
Since you won't be doing your own processing, I wouldn't worry about the Zone System for now. Meter normally but expose for the shadows, get a yellow or yellow+green filter, maybe a red to manipulate contrast. Have fun.
03-30-2009, 07:48 PM   #4

Original Poster
Thanks guys!!!

Great tips. Will try and post soon!

03-30-2009, 09:08 PM   #5
Inactive Account

Lithos' Most Valued BW Maxims:

* Ansel Adams is dead.

* Tri-X, Tri-X, and, failing that, Tri-X (or Fuji Neopan 400.)