Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-17-2009, 10:02 AM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
Ektar 100 VS Gold 100

Hi folks.
Chris Platt was kind enough to send me 1 roll of Ektar 100 and 3 rolls of Kodak gold 100. I confess that I was touched by the kind gesture. The purpose was / is to try and get a comparison. I feel like the least likely person to attempt such a test, but will will try my best. In truth, I am a film newbie still, so I am trying to figure out the best way to do this. Suggestions would be very helpful and much appreciated.

Should I run both types of film through the same camera and lens or should I load a roll of each into two different bodies.

My SLR's consist of 2 K1000's though one is out doing rounds in the U.S. and Canada, 2 ME Supers, 1 spotmatic 1964 model, 1 LX, and 1 Canon AE-1.

Suggestions are needed.
Thanks and Thanks Chris!

04-17-2009, 11:00 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
The way I have been thinking of doing such a comparison... I'd load two cameras & for the comparison shots shoot one after the other, ideally moving the lens from one body to the other. Then as boredom sets in, I'd happily shoot whatever with whichever, until some new comparison opportunity came my way.
04-17-2009, 11:47 AM   #3
Veteran Member

I've currently got a roll of Ektar loaded in the ZX-M and I'm interested to see how it compares to Reala 100 once I get it developed.

I'll be interested in seeing your results.

Heather
04-17-2009, 12:27 PM   #4
Inactive Account

Stick a roll in the LX, get a tripod, cable release, lock up the mirror and play with night shots and the IDM meter.

I know that's what I'd do with slow speed, super colourful film.

04-17-2009, 12:29 PM   #5
Veteran Member

if you want to make the test more complete, try to get some 100UC before it's gone!
04-17-2009, 01:04 PM   #6
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Nesster Quote