Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-30-2009, 10:05 PM   #1
Veteran Member

B&W Film vs Color Neg to B&W Conversion??

after reading javier's Ektar comparison and saw some B&W conversions, i thought they looked fairly decent. so i started playing around in lightroom with some of my old 400H photos and thinking, the greyscale conversion is pretty decent ... i'm not conoisseurish enough to see the exact differences. in fact it is more flexible because of the channel mixer.

and if so and it's easy to use and i don't develop my own film, why should i shoot B&W film? someone help me fill in the gap

04-30-2009, 11:48 PM   #2
Inactive Account

If it looks good, why not? I find it interesting that B&W film is more expensive to develop than color and the rolls are pricer too.

1, 2, 5, and 9 are color film converted in SilkyPix to B&W.
Portraits Photo Gallery by ajuett at pbase.com

-
04-30-2009, 11:53 PM   #3
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by k100d Quote
after reading javier's Ektar comparison and saw some B&W conversions, i thought they looked fairly decent. so i started playing around in lightroom with some of my old 400H photos and thinking, the greyscale conversion is pretty decent ... i'm not conoisseurish enough to see the exact differences. in fact it is more flexible because of the channel mixer.

and if so and it's easy to use and i don't develop my own film, why should i shoot B&W film? someone help me fill in the gap
Just depends on what you want.
I don't shoot B&W film for its lack of color, I use B&W film for the tones, textures, and grain. Also its super easy to develop on your own.
Shooting color and converting it to B&W digitally is just fine especially if you aren't going to be printing the film in a darkroom.
Actually I sometimes shoot 35mm color negatives and print them with my enlarger on B&W paper, comes out with some really interesting tones.
05-01-2009, 04:19 AM   #4
Veteran Member