Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-11-2009, 09:24 PM   #1

Choosing color and b/w film

Hi,

I'm soon going on a two month trip to Ecuador and I will be bringing my shiny new KM with me. I've got two years of b/w photo experience (that ended two years ago, though), but I haven't used color film since I was little (maybe 10 years ago?).

I will be staying half my time in the city and another half in the rainforest, and I'm trying to figure out what film to bring along. I've just found out that the dark room at my old high school won't be available for use this summer, so I won't be able to process the b/w film there. I would like to scan my negatives to keep them safe on the computer.

Knowing this, I'm thinking that I should just get the Kodak BW400CN c41 film for b/w shots. It's easily developed at any drugstore and it has very fine grain, especially for ISO 400 film. I've also found it to give some really nice contrast. Does any one recommend anything else, though?

As for color film, I'm looking at Kodak Portra 160-NC and Kodak Ektar 100. Both of these have great user reviews both here and on the B&H website, though I understand that the Ektar, being new, is often mistrusted. Anyone have anything to say either way?

I'm looking to do mostly daylight and probably evening shots, maybe some night, but I'm not sure I'll have a flash to use. I'll be taking photos both of other people in the program, I assume, as well as landscape and foliage, so I'm looking for natural colors, not too saturated.

Without a darkroom to develop my film, am I right in assuming that I would have to send the Portra film to a professional photo shop? I know that the ektar is c41, so I'm assuming drugstores could do that just fine.