Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-13-2009, 09:57 PM   #1

digital to film... what do i need to know?

Just got a film camera! mf, fully mechanical.

i have very little film experience.

What do i need to know about film? I don't want to end up with 4 rolls of technically bad photos because i screwed somrthing up.

How does film handle highlights?

How does wb come into play?

etc

05-13-2009, 10:44 PM   #2
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by 65535 Quote
Just got a film camera! mf, fully mechanical.

i have very little film experience.

What do i need to know about film? I don't want to end up with 4 rolls of technically bad photos because i screwed somrthing up.

How does film handle highlights?

How does wb come into play?

etc
You didn't say what type of film you're using...

White Balance works by getting the correct film for the light source, or using color correction filters. If you're shooting B&W, it doesn't much matter.

Generally, with film, you want to expose for the shadows.
05-14-2009, 02:41 AM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by OregonJim Quote

Generally, with film, you want to expose for the shadows.
Except slide film. Then you expose for the highlights. It's always worthwhile to familiarise yourself with the different kinds of films: how they work, how they are developed. Once you understand that, the rest falls into place.
05-14-2009, 02:41 AM   #4
Ira
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Bring a lot of money.

05-14-2009, 03:43 AM   #5
Inactive Account

Buy lots of cheap, expired film to get you started.
05-14-2009, 05:59 AM   #6
Veteran Member

just have fun really would be my comment.
get some film, shoot whatever you want and see what it looks like.

negative film can hold highlights better really well, but you also need a good scanner to be able to pull them out.