Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-05-2009, 09:47 PM   #1

K1000 metering question

Hey all, I just got my K1000 and started shooting a roll of 400 speed b&w. However I noticed that the shutter speeds seemed much slower than I would expect. I did a test with the same lens on my K20D set to 400 ISO, pointing at the same illuminated wall, and there was a huge difference between the shutter speeds.

I did set the K1000 to Bulb and ASA 100 and the needle read just over the center. Does this mean I need a new battery (perhaps even newer than the "new" one the ebay auction claimed it had), and might that be the cause of what I noticed? Keep in mind I'm new to Film I'm not absolutely sure I'm allowed to compare film ISO to digital ISO.

06-05-2009, 09:58 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
You should see meter deflection with changing light conditions. You then adjust your aperture and or shutter speed according. The meter is just a meter and does not directly effect the shutter speed. You do that based on the meter's reading. Th meter should be towards the bottom when the image is going to be under exposed or towards the top when it is going to be over exposed and in the middle for correct exposure.

As far as comparison to your digital, you should really have the iso, shutter speed and aperture the same on both to compare them. However, you really can't go by sound.

Edit: The K1000's meter and operation is straight forward. It is completely manual but intuitive. That is the secrete behind its success.
06-05-2009, 10:10 PM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Blue Quote