Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-06-2009, 11:33 AM   #1

Pentax KM with a stuck shutter?

Hi all! I'm new here, and I'm hoping someone could help me.

I have a chance to buy a KM from a very nice and kind gentleman who's very helpful but unfortunately knows nothing about film cameras. The following are some excerpts from his emails to me (I asked him to check if the shutter fires and film advance is working):

The advance lever appears to be locked, as if the camera needs to be triggered. The small cylindrical button on top right doesn't release it.

The film advance does not appear to work. The take up spool is free to turn so I'm guessing the mechanical connection between the button and the lever is inop.

I assume the small cylindrical button he's referring to is the shutter button. I have no experience repairing cameras and I'm anxious to know if, based on the description given to me by the gentleman, the shutter & film advance lever on the KM is stuck??? IS this problem repairable when I send it for a CLA later?

Thanks in advance, everyone!

Cheers,
-Dani-

06-07-2009, 06:02 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by altair Quote
Hi all! I'm new here, and I'm hoping someone could help me.

I have a chance to buy a KM from a very nice and kind gentleman who's very helpful but unfortunately knows nothing about film cameras. The following are some excerpts from his emails to me (I asked him to check if the shutter fires and film advance is working):

The advance lever appears to be locked, as if the camera needs to be triggered. The small cylindrical button on top right doesn't release it.

The film advance does not appear to work. The take up spool is free to turn so I'm guessing the mechanical connection between the button and the lever is inop.