Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-12-2009, 07:18 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
My New Machine

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

I'm now a Pentaxian!
I just purchased a pristine ES with attached Takumar SMC 50mm 1.4. (I already own a super-multi-coated 135/3.5 (which is a lovely lens) and a Supter-Takumar 200/4 - both of which I have been using on my Canon 40d).

I am new to Pentax and new to film in general. I try to do my research so as not to ask the same silly questions... but perhaps you will help me with a few what's best issues:

For my ES I am leaning toward the L28 battery (lithium) - is there reasonable consensus that this is best?

What are the top 5 preferred ISO 100 non-slide color films?
Same question as above for ISO 400

Is MPIX considered the best online company for processing 35mm color?

Thank you for your early indulgence. Hopefully I will be able to upload some samples soon! I will be thrilled to shoot this classic!

~ Bernard

Last edited by BernardMarx; 06-12-2009 at 10:20 AM. Reason: Photo added
06-12-2009, 04:04 PM   #2

Great camera there, I really love the feel and action of the Spotmatic series.
Best of luck with the film. But as you say you are new to film, don't be disappointed if the results aren't quite as you wanted them first time - just appreciate them for how they are. But I'm sure you knew that anyway!

Hope to see the results.
06-12-2009, 04:40 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Original Poster
Thanks for the welcome Spongefingers. I won't be disappointed; I'm in it for the voyage. I'll post my out-of-focus, grainy, and over-exposed as soon as I get some! May they be, at least, a welcome departure.

~ Bernard
06-12-2009, 05:54 PM   #4
Inactive Account