Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-04-2009, 11:01 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Reasons?

Right now I am looking at a Super Program w/ Pentax A 50 F2 being sold for 68 bucks.

I want to buy it, I really do, but I don't know if I would really use it when I have my K200...

But there is something that draws me to it, some reason I crave it, its dulled chrome, holding film in your hands... I never have really used a film SLR, I am still learning how to use my dSLR, but I still want it.

Any reasons I should actually buy this other than my wanting of it. I was thinking it would be a good learning tool, but is it? I think I am looking for things to convince myself to get it.

09-05-2009, 12:09 AM   #2
Veteran Member

You should get it and blast a couple of rolls through it. You will know right away if shooting film is for you or not.

If not, sell it to someone else.

Film is neither better nor worse then digital. It is different. If you like what is different, then you might enjoy film. If not, no loss, sell the camera and move on.
09-05-2009, 04:56 AM   #3
Veteran Member

It's not all about the outcome and whether film is better or worse than digital. It is about the difference in the way you approach and experience the shooting.

And the only way you'll know that is to try it.
09-05-2009, 05:11 AM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Mike Cash Quote
And the only way you'll know that is to try it.
This is true.

09-05-2009, 06:02 AM   #5
Veteran Member

There are reasons why you might sometimes leave the digital at home - the Programs are petite, the wee grip on them feels just right, making the camera an extension of the hand. You can easily hold the camera ready in your right hand, put it up to your eye and shoot.