Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-28-2007, 03:31 PM   #1

Pushing Kodak BW400CN - questions.

Hello!

I have very little experience with shooting film - a few rolls of Ilford HP5 and a couple of rolls of Ilford Delta 3200 (at concerts.) In all cases I had the film developed by a lab. (I would like to learn the process and be able to rent a darkroom but as of now I don't know how to develop B&W film.) With my limited knowledge of film developing and the characteristics of those particular films, I thought they did a decent job. I typically post-processed the images (< 2MB scans) in Photoshop.

I've recently found a lab close to home that has really quick turn-around on true B&W processing (deliver anytime before 5pm, collect between 6pm and 7pm!) and C-41 processing. They also provide a CD with 20MB scans! The results with a Delta 3200 roll were better than at the other lab and the best part is that they're slightly cheaper (developing + CD of scans = $20)

So, I've been inspired to shoot some film again and I decided to try out a roll of Kodak BW400CN just for kicks. It's rated at EI400 but I set the camera (Pentax ME) at ISO 800. Most of the photographs were taken in late-afternoon light and I did not add any exposure compensation.

My questions are:

1. Do I ask the guys at the lab to push the film by one stop?
2. What have your experiences been with pushing this film?
3. Could you provide some samples?
4. How far can I push this film - Kodak BW400CN - before the results get sketchy
5. How does the Ilford C-41 offering differ from the Kodak?

I would love to shoot Ilford HP5 on a regular basis and still might for certain shoots... but it would be great if I could find the sweet spot for BW400CN and shoot some rolls when I just want to get out into the city streets with a small, quiet camera!

Thanks!

05-28-2007, 06:15 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Chromogenic (C41) B&W films

Check this link: