Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-05-2009, 05:20 AM   #1
REN06

I need help with value of camera items.

I have got these items from my mom and have no idea what they are worth.
PENTEX ME SUPER
SMC PENTAX-M 1:2 50MM
FLASH AF200S
VIVITAR 80-200 f4.0

Also I want to get my wife a digital camera for christmas. Can I buy a new body and use the lenses and flash that I have???
I have no camera knowledge at all and need help

12-05-2009, 05:41 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Go to Keh.com and look up the items to get a good idea of their worth.
Do the same with completed listings on ebay.
That's what the rest of us do to answer questions such as these.

To keep things simple, if you get a Pentax DSLR you can use the lenses without an adapter, but metering/exposure won't be automated, she'll need to learn manual metering. You can use the flash, and it will talk to the camera body.

But as the kit lens is so cheap with the camera, and a very good one too, if you buy her a new camera get the kit lens - the ability to use these old lenses will be a bonus.
12-05-2009, 05:56 AM   #3
Ash
Community Manager
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the forum.
Your current gear is not going to be all that valuable monetarily, but do check what they go for from reputable resellers.

As for getting a Pentax dSLR, like a K-x, it will *work* with the camera as long as the directions are followed in the use of a fully manual lens - not as flexible as an auto lens, and hard for a newbie to appreciate. I don't believe the flash will give reliable results on a new camera, so I wouldn't bother using it to be honest. But there's no harm in trying it out for yourself.

I'd strongly suggest that if you're getting a new camera, just get with it the kit lenses (like the DA 18-55 and DA 50-200) that are bundled with it, both for value for money as well as ease of use for a new dSLR user.
12-05-2009, 07:24 AM   #4