Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-07-2010, 09:28 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Questions about my new KM

I'm a new DSLR user. A total newb to photography actually, and I just bought an old KM because I wanted the M50 1.7 lens that came with it. But as I was waiting for it in the mail, ...I couldn't wait to get my hands on the CAMERA. BUT...now that I have it, I'm not sure about a couple of things.

1) The film wind knob on the top left has a FILM and EXPOSURE dial.
For FILM it's either a "red sun" "black and white" or something else. I'm not sure what that is. It could be a bulb for flash maybe? What are these?
Either way I'm using 24 exposure film, yet the choices are either 20 or 36...sooo I'm gonna guess I want 36? Or am I way off the mark here?
2) There's a timer on the front...but there's also a chrome button above the timer dial. What's its purpose?
3) On the left side of the body next to the lens are two plugs. What are they for?

I've already put in a battery for the light meter which I've totally figured out, loaded it ok, with 200 speed film, and checked other posts on Black and White film (When I'm ready)...now I just have to finish this roll of film, and I'm good.

02-07-2010, 09:41 PM   #2

1) The dial with the pictures and the 20 or36 is meant just to remind you of what kind of film you've got in the camera, in case you were to shoot half a roll and then leave it for long enough to forget. I guess that film used to come in reels of either 20 or 36, rather than 24 or 36 like they do today. Whenever I had a 24 frame roll in, I just used the 20 to remind myself of that. The dial performs no other function apart from reminding you what you've loaded.