Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-05-2010, 10:20 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
LOW ISO films

I just got my hands on a sweet Ferrania Lince 2, and now that I've run a test roll through it discovering that works even better than it looks I'd like to get some proper film for it.
Preferably B&W.
Since this thing has a fastest shutter speed of 1/200 I'm limited to LOW ISO film... unless I can somehow mate an ND filter on.

So, can anyone suggest any preferably ISO 50 or slower B&W film?
Thanks in advance

03-05-2010, 11:13 AM   #2
Veteran Member

I've used the Ilford ASA 50 with excellent results... looks like there's Rollei and Efke available in 50 and 25, though I have no experience with these. Should be good.

I use ASA 100 b&w film with my antiques - 1/200 is plenty, as usually you want to shoot with smaller apertures and therefore slower shutter speeds. I prefer Foma, Ilford, Fuji to Kodak, at least in 35mm as they tend to curl less.
03-05-2010, 11:56 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
I only have one antique, a 2x3 SpeedGraphic, and I don't find it a problem with a front shutter speed maxing out at 1/400, even with ISO 400 film. Small apertures usually help.
03-05-2010, 01:33 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

In addtition to the previously mentioned, Adox has 25 & 50 ASA B&W films. The CHS films are a newer packaging of the Efke line.

- ADOX CHS Film Series -

Phil.

03-05-2010, 02:09 PM   #5
Veteran Member

use a handheld meter, shutter release cable and tripod and shoot "B"
03-05-2010, 02:44 PM   #6
Veteran Member

I've been enjoying Efke KB 50 recently, but keep in mind that it requires a hardening fixer, as it is a very old-fashioned emulsion.
03-05-2010, 04:27 PM   #7
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Thanks everyone,
It looks like I'll be placing my first order through freestyle soon, nad ordering up some Adox CHS 25