Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-21-2010, 12:25 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I couldn't resist, scan vs scan.

While playing around in the darkroom today I couldn't resist this image, shot on Ektar.

This scan is of course a high (as I could go on this machine) res scan done right from the negative at the lab I work at, using a frontier.

Here's the 100% crop from that scan.

While I'm only developing B&W in the darkroom, and a complete newbie at that I wanted to see how the resolution compared. So I scanned an 8x10 that I printed off earlier tonight, then I tried more or less coping the crop, and keeping everything the same size.
Here's what I came up with.

I honestly wasn't surprised that the scanned negative was more pixelated. However I was surprised at how much more-so it was

What I find more amazing, is I appear to have more Dynamic Range, going from the print. The eye just about disappears in the colour version, plus some areas of the head is almost blown out. While the B&W version looks more uniform.

I'm suddenly hoping that I'll eventually get good enough in the darkroom to do my colour prints as well. I think that it'll be an improvement, at least when it comes to large images.

Last edited by little laker; 03-21-2010 at 12:54 AM.
03-21-2010, 05:42 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
All kinds of funky things happen when you print a color neg to black and white paper. Remember, black and white paper is not panchromatic. I'm not sure I would take what I can see on my computer screen as an argument for color printing. On the other hand color printing is a lot of fun. You do need a really dark darkroom, though.

I have scanned several prints I've done over the years and later scanned the negative. I generally prefer the negative.
03-21-2010, 07:28 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Original Poster