Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-12-2010, 07:34 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
MV Impulse Purchase

I'm gonna skip the intro. My first post was to register my K1000. I bought it new in '88-'89 after I graduated high school and had to give my student camera back. The original kit zoom didn't make it and was replaced in 1998 with a 50mm f2. Best upgrade ever!
I haven't shot a roll out of it since last July but I do use it now and again. My camera today is an old S2 Pro.
With the nice weather, I've been wanting to get some film. I have been meaning to get a good telephoto for it also so I started browsing Ebay for something cheap...maybe broken.
Long story short, I made an impulse purchase. I won a complete MV with 50mm f2. I'm interested in the auto exposure and, to prepare myself, I went for a walk today with my S2 set on A.
I searched this site and it seems like this is a pretty rare camera. Does anyone have any experience with the mv? It should work just like an MV-1 right? I read that it has a metal leaf shutter. How does this compare with the silk shutter of my K1000?

Thanks for any info. I just found Bojidars K mount page and I'm gonna do some reading.

04-12-2010, 07:56 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Gashog Quote
Thanks for any info. I just found Bojidars K mount page and I'm gonna do some reading.
Metal shutter, yes; leaf shutter, no. You'll probably find it is significantly quieter in operation than the K1000.

From a user standpoint, the MV is arguably the simplest SLR Pentax ever made. I kind of like that idea. I haven't used one, but used to have the similar ME.
04-12-2010, 08:27 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Well, it shipped today so I should have it in my hands in a couple days....to my door for $22 and change!
Assuming the AE functions and the light seals are good, I'll have a roll through it by the end of the week. I'm psyched.