Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 4 Likes Search this Thread
04-21-2010, 03:37 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Screwmount lenses

Hello,
I'm new to the forum, but, as a beginning film student, I'd like to humbly request some advice on lenses. I have currently a Honeywell Pentax Spotmatic, which, surprisingly, functions perfectly. It came with the (outstanding, I must say) 55mm F1.8 Super Takumar. It's a great, really fast lens, has great bokeh, focus, and contrast. Really fast. I've taken night shots with the lens wide open and a roll of fuji 800, and they came out nice. All in all, no complaints at all about the super tak, but I need some more lenses to round out my kit, which is, right now, my Spotmatic and a Kuribayashi rangefinder. I'm looking mainly for a wide angle lens and something with a longer focal length, I.E. 70mm or above. However, if there is a standard lens that is just that amazing that I NEED TO HAVE IT OMG I'd like to know. Basically, do you more experience Pentaxians and Film Photographers have any favorite lenses or recommendations for solid buys in wide angle and telephoto M42 lenses?
Thanks-
Patrick

04-21-2010, 03:44 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Patrick, if you have the 55 you don't really need the 50/1.4 ... yet

Excellent Takumar lenses: the 35/3.5 and 28/3.5 both - the 35 is better but 28 is wider.

On the longer side, the 85 is well-appreciated (both in esteem and in $$), the 105 is excellent and can be had for less, and the 135 is ubiquitous and can be had cheap.

Outside of Takumar, if you luck into some Yashinons, great! Vivitars are all at least decent. Another way to go is to get an M42/Pentax screw mount (or Fujica screw, they are all the same on a Spottie) adaptall-2 and then the whole world of Tamron Adaptalls is open.
04-21-2010, 04:37 PM   #3
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums