Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-12-2009, 11:48 AM   #16
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by jbinpg Quote

I think one of the benefits of the K-x's clean 12800 ISO is that it will allow shorter exposures for astrophotography such that you don't have to worry about as much sensor noise showing up in the frame. I would like to see the combo of K-x 12800ISO and PhotoAcute in action. The results could be spectacular.

Jack
I wouldn't quite call it a "clean" ISO 12800, just cleaner. That said, I really need to look up this photoacute program you mention...

11-12-2009, 02:07 PM   #17
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Nice image! Stars are crisp right to the edge.
11-13-2009, 07:53 AM   #18

what do you guys use to stack?

I'm new to the idea of astrophotography, but I've always wanted to try. Now that I've taken the plunge and gotten a DSLR (kx) I'd like to get into it a little.

What methods or software (I'm probably going to try this photoacute, sounds cool) do you use to stack images and subtract dark frames? Can this be done easy enough with the standard fare of photo programs like GIMP or photoshop?
11-13-2009, 08:46 AM   #19
Forum Member

QuoteOriginally posted by youareme7 Quote
I'm new to the idea of astrophotography, but I've always wanted to try. Now that I've taken the plunge and gotten a DSLR (kx) I'd like to get into it a little.

What methods or software (I'm probably going to try this photoacute, sounds cool) do you use to stack images and subtract dark frames? Can this be done easy enough with the standard fare of photo programs like GIMP or photoshop?
Try RegiStax or K3CCDTools, both free, or RegiStar (not free). I like 'em all but probably would go with RegiStax. Note this is not a point and click endeavor, there is a bit of a learning curve with all these programs. In fact every time I dive back in I have to re-remember things.

11-13-2009, 08:59 AM   #20