Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home
 

Reply
Show Printable Version Search this Thread
5 Likes  
Sigma 50-150 F2.8 EX DC HSM II Refurbished- $499 at Sigma Outlet
Posted By: seventysixersfan, 03-01-2013, 01:45 PM

WOW!

These won't last long, I'm sure. $499 for the awesome and rare Sigma 50-150 F2.8 EX DC HSM II.
50-150mm F2.8 EX DC HSM II Refurbished | Sigma

Last time it was offered in the Sigma Outlet Store was for $559.

As discussed here in this thread:
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-price-watch/195883-refurbished-si...nses-sale.html

And Edgar does an excellent write-up of this lens here:

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/lens-sample-photo-archive/196246-sigma-5...es-thread.html
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-slr-lens-discussion/128533-sigma-...lots-pics.html

Run, don't walk, to buy this great zoom lens at an amazing price!

Attached Images
 


Last edited by seventysixersfan; 03-01-2013 at 01:53 PM.
Views: 31,030
03-15-2013, 10:32 AM   #151
Pentaxian
Edgar_in_Indy's Avatar

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Indiana, USA
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 2,559
QuoteOriginally posted by TropicalMonkey Quote
If we just send the lens for firmware update, can't we tune focusing, if needed, ourselves?
Maybe, maybe not. My K-30 doesn't have as much control over autofocus adjustment as I would like. I've seen lenses where the maximum adjustment (-10 or +10) was not enough, and there can also be times when the adjustments aren't precise enough. I think my K-30 only has 10 degrees of adjustment in each direction. For a lens with an extremely thin depth of field, the perfect adjustment may lie between two of the given adjustment points.

03-15-2013, 12:31 PM - 1 Like   #152
New Member




Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sarasota, Fl
Posts: 11
K01 with Sigma 50-150. I'm just starting to mess with the K01 with this lens. Very bright and sunny day here in Florida. I'm a complete Pentax novice. No PP on this.
Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-01  Photo 
03-15-2013, 12:32 PM   #153
Senior Member




Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 149
That is correct. I had to dial in -10 when shooting wide open at the long end but even then it was barely there. I had to send my K5 as well with the lens. Just spoke to them and they said it is done and will be shipped today. Unfortunately they do not have Saturday deliveries
03-15-2013, 01:08 PM   #154
Site Supporter




Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,276
any thoughts on why some lenses need a firmware update (to focus in LV) and others don't? can it be related to the camera and its firmware too?

03-15-2013, 01:31 PM   #155
Site Supporter
gda13's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Florida
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 922
QuoteOriginally posted by sergysergy Quote
any thoughts on why some lenses need a firmware update (to focus in LV) and others don't? can it be related to the camera and its firmware too?
I tend to agree with the "New Old Stock" hypothesis at least for some of them and as one poster mentioned they had a correspondence with a service rep that seems to back that up. I had my suspicions when I first unboxed my copy because everything in the box looked as I would expect it to if it were brand new...paperwork, accessories etc...it even smelled new so all in all a superb deal!
03-15-2013, 01:57 PM   #156
Senior Member




Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 149
Guess I recieved a refurbished coipy as LV worked fine on mine and the box was torn from one side...till the time it works I am fine
03-15-2013, 02:20 PM   #157
Site Supporter




Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,276
As long as all of them work I guess it doesn't make a difference
03-15-2013, 02:36 PM   #158
Site Supporter
gda13's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Florida
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 922
I don't think it does. I purchased this lens with the understanding that it was refurbished and without any reservations as such. I have had very positive and trouble free experiences buying refurbished electronics at substantial savings. In fact I have never had a problem with any refurbished item being defective which is more than I can say for some new items I have bought. Although YMMV.

03-15-2013, 02:39 PM   #159
Veteran Member
selar's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 2,035
QuoteOriginally posted by gda13 Quote
Sent from my Galaxy S3 using Tapatalk 2
How do you put those signature banners in Tapatalk
03-15-2013, 02:41 PM   #160
Site Supporter




Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,276
My suggestion: 90 day warranty = 90 days using it (just in case)
03-15-2013, 03:48 PM   #161
Site Supporter
gda13's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Florida
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 922
QuoteOriginally posted by selar Quote
How do you put those signature banners in Tapatalk
In the main settings for the app there is a specific setting for the signature which you can customize.





QuoteOriginally posted by sergysergy Quote
My suggestion: 90 day warranty = 90 days using it (just in case)
Definitely.
03-18-2013, 06:57 PM   #162
Senior Member




Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 149
Received the lens back along with my K5. Apart from the beautiful packaging these sent the two in no change. I am still dialling in -10 to the same effect. Wondows what calibration was carried out by Sigma. Total waste of time and money.
03-18-2013, 07:10 PM   #163
Site Supporter




Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Saint Paul
Posts: 304
How do we determine if the lens needs firmware update or not? Is there a way to check the current firmware version of this lens using a K5?
Mine actually focuses pretty close, with very little front focusing.
03-18-2013, 07:39 PM   #164
Pentaxian
Edgar_in_Indy's Avatar

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Indiana, USA
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 2,559
QuoteOriginally posted by TropicalMonkey Quote
How do we determine if the lens needs firmware update or not? Is there a way to check the current firmware version of this lens using a K5?
Mine actually focuses pretty close, with very little front focusing.
There is a problem with autofocus in liveview on the old firmware. When you try to autofocus in liveview, the lens will just go all the way through the focus range and then give up without achieving focus. The newer firmware corrects that problem. Some people don't worry about updating the firmware since they don't ever expect to have much need to use the lens in liveview.
03-19-2013, 12:26 PM   #165
Site Supporter
gda13's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Florida
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 922
Impressive turn around time from Sigma as was mentioned in this thread, just got a notice that my lens and k5 have been shipped out. On the work order it states that the firmware was updated and the AF data was adjusted...fingers crossed.
Reply

Bookmarks
  • Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook
  • Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter
  • Submit Thread to Digg Digg
Tags - Make this thread easier to find by adding keywords to it!
dc, dc hsm ii, f2.8, f2.8 ex dc, hsm, ii, lens, outlet, pentax deals, sigma, sigma 50-150 f2.8
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sigma 50-150mm f/2.8 II EX DC APO HSM Lens Samples Thread Edgar_in_Indy Lens Sample Photo Archive 48 11-03-2016 09:39 AM
Wanted - Acquired: Sigma 17-50mm f2.8 EX DC HSM -or- 24-70mm f2.8 EX DG HSM AirBoss Sold Items 8 05-20-2012 06:52 AM
For Sale - Sold: Sigma 50-150mm f2.8 APO EX DC HSM ivoire Sold Items 4 01-11-2012 07:15 AM
Sigma EX 50-150/2.8 II APO DC HSM Pentax gkopeliadis Pentax SLR Lens Discussion 4 03-18-2008 04:27 AM



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:53 AM. | See also: NikonForums.com, CanonForums.com part of our network of photo forums!
  • Red (Default)
  • Green
  • Gray
  • Dark
  • Dark Yellow
  • Dark Blue
  • Old Red
  • Old Green
  • Old Gray
  • Dial-Up Style
Hello! It's great to see you back on the forum! Have you considered joining the community?
register
Creating a FREE ACCOUNT takes under a minute, removes ads, and lets you post! [Dismiss]
Top