Views: 11,570
08-05-2015, 07:25 PM   #31
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by starjedi Quote
Updates:Nikon 200-500 F5.6 is $1399.99!
Well at that rate you can pick up a bigma 50-500 for ~$800

Of course, the quality wont be the same, but quality is for the dogs right?

08-08-2015, 07:38 AM   #32
Pentaxian

I got this lens...:-)

it was not getting love for some time it seems... sticky duct tape & marks all over.... the front cover was sticky around the edges... the case was bent.
I spent some time cleaning and it looks quite good again... the optics where good from beginning (PZ & Focus, Limiter) and I have fixed the box...

now I just need to get a proper bag or backpack to carry it... any recommendations?
I have a proper Tripod and Gimbal so no need there...:-)

How I did clean the Lens & Cover:
The lens had those ugly duct tape marks from the glue. I tested different options on the bottom of the the collar and found that Ethanol is working the best for getting rid of the marks and not dissolving the silver coating.
And the same was true for the front cover. I was able to remove the fake (faux) leather which got sticky with the years and was peeling of. The cover pieces are made of real leather but the borders/bindings are made with these faux leather bands.. I used a lot of ethanol (alcohol) to remove the faux leather layer and reveal the textile underneath. Hope this helps someone else!

Last edited by max_pyne; 08-08-2015 at 08:57 AM.
08-08-2015, 08:58 AM   #33
Pentaxian

here my first shot with the lens. some room for improvement especially for the handling... :-)
Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-3  Photo 
08-08-2015, 09:13 AM   #34
Master of the obvious
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by max_pyne Quote
I got this lens...:-)
Congratulations! Sounds like you've done a nice job of cleaning it up, too.

Promising first image as well