Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
4x JIS Screwdrivers, Moody Chromium Vanadium Steel $17.50 @ Amazon
Posted By: dcshooter, 08-27-2015, 02:01 PM

Saw this on Amazon deals and thought it might be of interest to forum members interested in lens/camera body repair on Pentax or any other Japanese cameras or lenses.

As you might know, the screws used on most Japanese camera gear since the 1970's are not regular Phillips screws but are rather Japanese Industrial Standard (JIS), and will strip out if you attempt to use a regular Phillips driver on them.

I have a lot of experience doing this kind of work, and in my opinion, Moody makes the absolute best JIS drivers for working on vintage gear.

This very nice chromed set, which usually goes for $23, is on sale for $17.50 at Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004PGO1T6/ref=pe_64730_148035630_em_1p_8_ti

Last edited by dcshooter; 08-27-2015 at 04:10 PM.
Views: 3,053
08-27-2015, 03:34 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
That is a very good price and I totally agree regarding the Moody quality.

Steve
08-27-2015, 03:38 PM   #3
Site Supporter

Thanks, I'll give them a try.
08-27-2015, 03:43 PM   #4
Veteran Member

I actually just got a set of these, and I don't find them to be well made at all. The black carbon tips wobble in the metal handles no matter how much you tighten. FYI.

I am awaiting this set from Japan: http://www.amazon.com/VESSEL-precision-screwdriver-set-TD-56/dp/B000CED236/r...0RTKYT1T7EAH0X

08-27-2015, 03:49 PM   #5
Pentaxian

You have to unscrew the cap completely and make sure the tip is seated fully then tighten it down. When the handles come from the factory the prongs are a little too compressed for the tang of the tip to fit into them. You should only have to do this once and then everything will be fine.
08-27-2015, 03:50 PM   #6
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery