Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
02-03-2009, 04:53 PM - 1 Like   #1
Forum Member

Digital Concepts flash 918AF reviewed and tested

Well, I was trying everywhere, including this site, to find some review or info on this new Digital Concepts flash, no luck. So I figured that the only way to learn more about this flash is to buy one. I am no pro and I do not need all the special features, but my old relic Pentax 200s that I was so far using with my K100D just did not have enough reach and working in the Av or manual modes only was not just very convenient. So here it goes:

I bought the flash off ebay for $79 US, $95 including shipping to Canada. The flash itself has the Digital Concepts logo on the front and the model inscription “918AF/PEN SPEEDLITE” on the back. There is NO ‘made by’ or even ‘made in’ inscription anywhere on the flash. However, if you look at the bottom of the packaging box, there is Sakar International Inc. and Made in China printed there. Similarly, at the bottom of the one page (11” x 17”) manual, there is a reference for the technical support to be found at Sakar – unfortunately, no such flash model there.

As pointed out by ‘mattdm’ when I inquired about this flash few weeks ago, the DC 918AF looks nearly identical to the Tumax DSL 880AFZ. In fact the looks, the controls and the manual (all the wording, pictures and specs) are identical except two things, 1) the 918AF has GN of 38 m vs. GN of 32 on 880AFZ and 2) the 918AF has both bounce AND swivel, the 880AFZ has bounce only. So if you want a full description and specs of the 918AF, look at this link with the above mentioned corrections http://www.icorpandtumax.com/uploadfiles/file_470c455cb34aa.pdf .
I think that with today’s global/integrated economy you never know who’s product you are buying, there might be one obscure manufacturer who makes the product, and then half a dozen companies put their brand name logo on it …