Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-04-2009, 08:17 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums
M42 adapters, Pentax vs Generic

As a naive beginner, I purchased a few flangeless, generic M42 adapters and had few difficulties with them. I remove the spring & leave them permanently on the lens.

A number of posters have not had this experience with generics and imply all knock-off M42 adapters are junk & only genuine Pentax adapters should be considered. They are simple devices and I found the conflicting user experiences hard to understand so decided try to identify critical differences.

All my non-pentax brand adapters are chrome plated brass and are well built. Usually they cost about $13-$15 delivered. I remove the spring & leave them on my m42 lenses. The only trouble I've ever had is if too much force is used when mounting, they will occasionally over-rotate*. I measured everything & could find no obvious dimensional faults.

Finally I purchased a Pentax Brand adapter for a direct comparison so I could reconcile the conflicting experiences. I could find no material or dimensionally significant differences between the branded adapter and the knock-offs.

What then is the critical difference?

I removed the spring, put the Pentax adapter on the camera and could NOT get it to over-rotate, so I looked closely at the adapter. It turns out that the ends of the knock- off's ears all have fillets while the ear ends flanking the spring of the Pentax brand are finished square as shown in the following photo: (Pentax left, knock-off right):

I squared off the ear ends flanking the spring location on the knock-off & the over-rotation problem went away!

In the interest of completeness, the ears on my three kinds of knock offs are not quite as long circumference-wise as the Pentax adapter's and the ear edges are chamfered, but these differences seem to have no functional effect.