Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-14-2010, 03:52 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Getting started in film development

Hi everyone,

It's really about time that I started doing my own development for film. But I have never done it before and really don't know where to start in regards to equipment. So I could use some suggestions as to what sort of stuff I will need to get started.

I gather I will need the following:
- development tank (daylight type would be good!)
- measuring beakers
- developer solution
- fixer and stop bath solutions (I think I can use water for the stop bath??)
- changing bag and/or dark room
- film reel for dev tank

Any other basic stuff I am missing?

One of the big unknowns for me is what developer to use... I wouldn't have a clue. I was thinking of just doing B&W, and apart from experimentation I use the following films:
- Acros 100
- Tri-x
- Ilford FP4+ 125

At this stage I am just shooting 35mm but definately want to shoot 120 soonish, so a dev tank where I could do either would be nice. I think I have seen tanks that allow you to do 1 roll of 120 or 2 rolls of 135, that sounds good to me. Are some types of tanks and reels better than others?

Anything against buying a film development kit straight from Freestyle?

Apologies for so many questions in one post, thanks for any help and suggestions.
cheers,
Jason

09-14-2010, 04:55 AM   #2
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
I don't know the dev kits from Freestyle.