Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
06-30-2010, 01:52 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Doing first wedding (gulp!)

Hello out there;
First off, wanted to say this is a GREAT site; tons of info for the budding photographer!
I am shooting my first wedding, in a months time, against my better judgement. The bride to be saw my photos (she is a friend of a friend), and said she wanted me to do her wedding. After 5x of telling her I am just an amateur, I finally relented. (doing it for free - all I want is a couple of sdhc cards)
My question is, what settings, advice, etc, can you give me? (besides the obvious...dont do it! lol)
I have a k7 (just bought it), a k200d, DA 18-55 lens, that came with the camera, SMC FA 80-320 1:4.5-5.6, SMC FA 28-70 1:4, DA 10-17 fisheye 1:3.5-4.5, pentax 540 flash, and a Vivitar 730AFPK auto focus zoom flash.
I welcome ALL answers ( be a little gentle though, ok? lol)
Thank you one and all.

Dave

06-30-2010, 02:09 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I hate to point out the obvious but it doesn't seem like you have any fast lenses for low light situations. If their wedding is in a church, that will pose quite a problem as flash will probably not be allowed. Consider a manual focus 50mm f1.4 or 1.7 if money is tight. A diffuser would be useful as well. I'd scout out the location first before the wedding. I'd also make sure you know how to use your flashes VERY well, they're extremely important during a wedding.