Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-26-2007, 02:22 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Photographers vs Heirs of Dead Celebs...

First, a disclaimer... I am not a lawyer, nor do I play one on TV... The following are my personal opinions only and should not be construed to be either legal or even sane advice...

I had heard that there were issues with photos of certain dead celebrities but I really didn't have any details.... The Nov/Dec issue of American Photo has an interesting article regarding several photographers who are pitted against the wife of the heir to Marilyn Monroe.

Seems when Marilyn died in 1962, her estate passed to her mentor, Lee Strasburg. Mr. Strasberg died in 1982 , leaving his estate (including Marilyn's estate) to his wife Anna Strasberg. She personally managed licensing images of Marilyn for several years before forming a company called Marilyn Monroe LLC in 1986. Mrs. Strasberg and MM LLC claimed the right to licensing fees for ANY image of Marilyn Monroe based on a 1985 law controlling "postmortem rights of publicity". Under this law, the photographer (or holder of the copyright) and/or his own heirs must pay a fee to MM LLC any time the photographer's image of Marilyn is sold for commercial use.

Several photographers and their heirs are contesting this claim due to the opinion that the 1986 law did not include prior celebrity deaths so Marilyn had no "postmortem rights of publicity" Earlier this year courts in California and New York sided with the photographers and agreed that Marilyn's estate did not include this condition.

MM LLC is naturally appealing and a bill is under consideration in CA to make the 1986 law apply to celebrities who died earlier (including Marilyn). This bill is expected to become law, thus granting to MM LLC the rights and revenue stream they desire.

------------------------------

Now, my problems with this whole situation.