06-24-2013, 04:39 PM   #4711
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
I know, we all say it.

06-25-2013, 08:02 PM - 1 Like   #4712
Veteran Member

Got a nice score through the local Craigslist listings today.

Pentax MZ-S
Pentax FA 28-200
Pentax FA 17-28 Fisheye

All working

$200

I managed to snipe this while browsing the listings at work. Got an immediate reply, met up with him a couple of hours later.

We actually sat down and had a good chat for a while. The seller is now a Canon shooter. He knows the value of the items, but he was just looking to offload them quick with no hassles since he's leaving this Friday with his girlfriend to go teach in South Korea, possibly forever. I told him about my journey into photography through Pentax, and he was happy that the lenses and camera are going to a good home.

The camera was purchased by him back in 2004 for $1200. It works, according to him, but since I lack batteries and I have no experience with film cameras I have no way of knowing. It is super clean inside the film compartment. The mirror has some dust, and I'm unsure what the sensor looks like since I have no way of powering this on and making the mirror flip up. I will consult the film camera sub-forum to see the best way I can get this camera cleaned and tested.

The lenses are in good shape. Zooming could be smoother, but AF is smooth and accurate and the glass is clean.

The 28-200 is fairly mush at all apertures and focal lengths, but still serviceable. I'm probably going to just give this away. One thing in its favor though is that AF is lightning fast on my K30, seemingly faster than my current fastest focusing lens (DA 70). Not sure why it's the case, but that might make it decent for some sort of action use.

The 17-28 fisheye is super fun. I recently got a Sigma 10-20, so I don't know how this lens will fit into my lineup. It will probably live with me for the summer, and then we'll see after that.