Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-30-2011, 09:55 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Contax lenses on K5

I am new at DSLR, but not Pentax, my fist camera was a Spotmatic. Since I have been a Contax guy (my wife to). But I made the jump to Pentax K5 last week and I love it.
I am considering converting some of my Contax lenses with the Leitax solution. Firstly the 28/2,8 then maybe my 85/2,8.
Does anybody have any experience with converted Contax lenses on a K5?

Love this forum/site.

10-30-2011, 10:13 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Enjoy digital!

Your Contax SLR lenses are still excellent, but converting them to Pentax via the (excellent) Leitax mounts requires some confidence if they are not MM. (Not sure about Contax N, if that's what you have... but Canon folks will give you their firstborn for those in any case!)

I've converted a AE 50mm/1.7, and an AE 28mm/2.8, and both were tricky and required an extra spring to "wrap around" the back element to keep the aperture actuator active while adjusting the stops.

The difference from shooting film with these lenses was how the DSLR magnifies the CA a bit, and is more susceptible to flare softening. Not sure why or if it's quantifiable, just "seems" that way in comparison to Pentax's own "DA" for digital lenses and coatings. The 50/1.7 was also a purple-fringe monster at high-contrast situations, but that's partly the DSLR to blame.
10-30-2011, 11:05 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Good Morning, and welcome to the Forum!

I have converted the same two Contax lenses (MM, 28/2.8 and 85/2.8) and they are perfect, and work extremely well, producing excellent results. Obviously, they are not auto aperture nor autofocus. However, you do get real time focus indication (the little red square and green diamond in the viewfinder), catch in focus, and they work in Aperture Priority (Av), Manual and Bulb modes.