Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
12-08-2010, 04:58 PM   #1

Help with choosing my first flash.

Evening all,
I have tried the search function and not finding easily what I am looking for so hopefully you mind the question. I am a complete beginner with my camera. I would like to purchase a hot shoe flash. I want good quality and one that will last me a long time as far as options go. I have no idea how much I will use it but I want one that I wont regret buying and say I should have bought this one instead.
I am quit surprised at the price of the Pentax AF 540. Could you help shed some light on the basics of choosing a flash. What about Sigma or metz. I have no idea what I need.

Thanks.

12-08-2010, 05:15 PM   #2
Ira
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
It's complicated, but the main thing you want to know at this stage is the POWER of the flash. The 540 can illuminate a much bigger room than the 360. (I forget if that's the model # for the smaller of the two Pentax units.)

Both Pentax flashes will offer you true P-TTL (Through-The-Lens) metering, not just TTL, which is a long story and you don't need to know that know. P-TTL flashes mean this:

The flash sits in the hot shoe, but that shoe isn't just used to trigger the flash:

There are contacts there that take your P-TTL flash and turn it into a mini-computer almost--actually integrating it as part of your body's metering system. As the camera's metering system analyzes the amount of light actually entering the lens and what's needed for your choice of ISO, aperture, and shutter speed, the flash behaves accordingly.

This can be done in a fully auto mode because you don't WANT to know what the heck is going on (you just want it to work), or you can choose one of dozens of ways to manipulate the variables for the exact effect you want or need.