Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-08-2011, 04:24 PM   #1

Fireworks problem

Hello.
I'm new to photography and tried to photograph fireworks for the first time last night, but I have a bit of a problem I hope someone can help me with.

Name:  03.jpg
Views: 355
Size:  79.0 KB
Name:  05.jpg
Views: 337
Size:  52.5 KB

What are those blobs of light and how do I stop it?

Luckily I have another chance next Friday night

Thanks

07-08-2011, 05:40 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
That lens flare. You can Google for advice, but to some extent, it's inevitable when shooting directl into light sources. Certainly, though, if you're using a UV filter, throw it away.
07-08-2011, 05:44 PM   #3
Veteran Member

^^ You know, Marc, you've always had a knack for posting as I'm typing. Grrr. (just kidding

Do you have any filters on the front of your lens? If so, I suggest you remove them. This is light bouncing off some piece of glass, either a filter or a lens element itself, and causing an unwanted reflection in your final image.

If you used no filter on the front of the lens, is this a zoom lens? They (tend) to have more elements and thus more surfaces that light could reflect off. I recently took some shots with my 50-200 that I got unwanted reflections with, and yet with my 15mm and my 40mm prime lenses I got no such reflections.

You can see this sort of unwanted reflection taking sunrise/sunset shots depending on what lens/filter combination you are using.
07-08-2011, 05:52 PM   #4
Veteran Member

By the way nice shots and a little work you can remove those blobs :-)

07-09-2011, 12:10 AM   #5
vic

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by khardur Quote
^^ You know, Marc, you've always had a knack for posting as I'm typing. Grrr. (just kidding