Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-08-2012, 03:53 PM   #1
Forum Member

Custom image

hi, total Pentax newbie here

I currently have a Canon 550D (T2i), which I use only for video (I only take stills for testing lenses or for timelapses)
I'm thinking of the K-01 as a likely replacement (pending details on image processing and video codec)
shooting video, I won't be able to shoot RAW: I'll have to use a Custom Image setting baked into the image (from what I've seen, that's Pentax equivalent of Canon's Picture Styles), and that will throw a lot of information away

with Canon, there's a utility that comes with the camera that allows anybody to create custom picture styles that can be uploaded to the camera; using that (or something similar), Technicolor created CineStyle, and I created Flaat

I've looked around, but haven't found it: does Pentax have anything like that, or are Custom Images not really customizeable?
(if this can't be done, from what I see at the tests in dpreview, maybe using muted or setting contrast=-4 will be enough for what I want, but I could really do with a way to add a curve setting to the profile)

02-08-2012, 04:20 PM   #2
Ole
Administrator

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Custom Image Settings are customizable in the camera. You can't create them on a PC and upload them.

That's how it works on a Pentax DSLR. The K-01 could be different, of course, we don't know yet.
02-08-2012, 06:29 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I think as early as the K-7/K-x, there have been in camera Custom Image settings. Maybe even with the K20.
Natural, muted, landscape, reverse film and several others. You can adjust the tones, hues, contrast and other properties of any of these Custom Image settings to match what you like.
Photoscape has some interesting treatments in it's editing software. Lots of nice film like treatments.
02-09-2012, 12:26 AM   #4
Veteran Member