Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-09-2010, 05:14 PM   #1

Wildlife photography

Good morning from Australia...I am VERY new to digital photography...please be patient with me!!!...I am travelling to Africa, and am very keen to get into wildlife photography there: especially bird photography....I have seen threads on the SIGMA 50-500mm lens here: is it possible to use a 2x converter, or possibly a 1.4x converter with the lens on my K200D body?...I would really appreciate any help!!...Cheers, Paul

01-09-2010, 05:52 PM   #2
Veteran Member

I'm sure the they can be used together, as far as image quality, ill let others input
01-09-2010, 06:01 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Welcome to the forums skebenga!
While you can use the 2x it would be best to use the lesser multiplier like the 1.5x as the multiplier also doubles the f-stop.
The 50-500mm has an f-stop of f:4-6.3.
With the 2x tele-converter, you are looking at f:12.6 at 1000mm.
If you use the 1.5x then it would be around f:10 at 750mm.
Tele-converters also somehow degrade the optics of the lens in particular as you are adding more glass not in the original design of the lens you will be using plus the degradation of light as well that goes with that.
So, the lesser the multiplier factor the better.
01-10-2010, 06:57 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Welcome Skebenga,

What you would need depends upon the type of safari you are going to make.
If you do a safari by driving in a safari vehicle, supposedly with other people in the car as well, stability is the main issue. With very long lenses you will have a lot of problems with 300mm+, the engine may be running, people move in the car etc.
You'd be supprised how well 300mm works in Africa.
We've met some professional wildlife photographers there and they all work with less than 500mm (some even work with 200mm).