Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
03-18-2010, 11:26 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Beginners question about noise (clunk) in a Pentax DSLR

Just bought a Pentax K7.

This might be a stupid question as i am new to the modern functions of present DLSRs, but i would be very happy if someone would leave a comment just the same

When i turn it in my hand something inside goes slight "clunk", like some object
is shifting inside. I have an idea this may be the Shake reduction system, or something connected to it.

If another K7 owner could attest to the same i would be relieved.

Best regards.

DV8

03-18-2010, 11:41 AM   #2
Pentaxian
Moderator Emeritus

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Perfectly normal. actually you'll find a reference in the owners manual regarding this.

The sensor is on a magnetic "floating' chasis and this is for the shake reduction and dust removal systems.

Breath out, your camera is fine. or I have 4 that have issues....
03-18-2010, 12:01 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
nice question!! And thanks Peter for the answer, when I finally bite-the-bullet and get a K7 I would probably not have even read the manual yet so would have assumed whatever carrier, killed my new toy!!
03-18-2010, 03:47 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
OK, this one seems worth sticking. This question has been asked at least once a week for the last three years; maybe having a sticky note here will slow that down.

03-18-2010, 03:59 PM   #5
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Marc Sabatella Quote
OK, this one seems worth sticking. This question has been asked at least once a week for the last three years; maybe having a sticky note here will slow that down.
REALLLLLY? Wow...people had the K-7 3-yrs ago? hehehehe...
03-19-2010, 02:30 AM   #6
DV8
Inactive Account

Original Poster
Confirming my suspicion:

Thank you all for replying!