Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-23-2010, 01:22 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Sharpness with DAL 55-300mm

I'm having some issues getting really sharp images with my DAL 55-300. I'm a newbie, so I thought I would ask for some advice.

When I take the photos and look at the tiny picture in the viewfinder they look pretty crisp, but once they're loaded on the computer and I zoom in on the subject I realize that they are very soft. I have shake reduction turned on and am trying to be as still as possible, but I'm not seeing the results I'm hoping to.

For others that use this lens, is this a common problem when shooting with this lens and not mounting to a tripod? I've even noticed some similar issues when I use my 18-55 kit lens, so maybe it's just my unsteady hands?

Any advice would be helpful. Thanks!

04-23-2010, 02:03 PM   #2
Pentaxian

I've got a DA 55-300/F4-5.8. It's not bad, but when you start heavily cropping on 300mm FL shots (say 25% or less of the original 14.6Mpx shot) you can notice a reduction. You're down to about 3.5Mpx so the reduction could be purely pixel related, but I think with this amount of crop-produced "'magnification" you'll also see lens problems.

I do weekly Saturday morning U8 soccer (half-length fields) and a tripod with K20D and the 55-300. I follow the action, by panning, throughout the game. If I close-frame (zoom in to concentrate on just 1 or 2 players) I face problems when they kick (the ball may already have moved out of the frame - I don't like an action shot of a player who had just given a great kick and you can't see the ball in-frame.). If I use medium-framing, I can keep the ball in-frame more easily and see approaching players on an intercept path, so I can get more dramatic shots, but I end up cropping more often, sometimes a lot.

Have you tried it on a tripod (with SR off)? It could also be a B/F focus issue. Try: