Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-23-2007, 10:17 AM   #1

Potential new Pentax user

Hello,

I've been reading and searching through these forums for several days now, and wow, what an education.

I'm a Nikon user (D70s) thinking of switching over to Pentax, specifically the K100D. I'm an advanced amateur on a tight budget, I'm spoiled by the exposure controls and beautiful low noise of a DSLR, and I think I can get a K100D, the lenses I want and recoup most of that expense after selling off my Nikon equipment. I figured "soon" being a good time with Pentax's rebate and the falling price of the K100D.

The main reason I'm thinking of moving over is Pentax's historic lens compatibility, and being able to find good oldies at low cost. I've found a few lenses I'm interested in on the used market, and I hope that they will still be there next month. And as time goes on, I'll probably be interested in other lenses as well — LBA alert!

I would be loosing a few things compared to my D70s, like dual command dials, a larger grip, and faster performance to name a few. I think I can live without them, and I'll be gaining shake reduction with all my lenses (I know it won't do miracles), better out-of-the-camera photos for the 90% of the time I don't feel like doing RAW, and, not least, compatibility with older lenses.

This forum has told me a lot about battery issues (I plan to get the Rayovac Hybrids), opinions on specific lenses, effectiveness of the current dust reduction (not worth the cost for the K100D Super for me)...is there anything else I should know? Do you think I'm making the better choice?

Thanks!

Alex

08-23-2007, 10:56 AM   #2

Hi, nice to see people rethink their camera gear