Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-25-2007, 07:40 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
K100D and Outside Action Pics

I am a thrilled novice owner of a K100D, and have been studying the book, playing with different options...

My kids are involved in Tae Kwon Doe competitions as well as soccer. I have previously resorted to using the "moving object" auto mode, sometimes with great results, sometimes with things being a bit blurry. With more understanding of shutter speeds, I have started trying the "Tv" mode, and have found for ocean shots, flying birds, and soccer games, 1/500 shutter speed seems to give me crisp pictures.

Looking back at the Tae Kwon Doe pics that were blurry, the auto moving object shutter speed was 1/50 - pretty slow...

Today, I switched it back to auto mode at a day soccer game, just to see what it would suggest, and it was wanting to use 1/2000.

Any comments as to why the camera would want to use such a fast (or slow) shutter speed?

Note: These pics were taken with a SIGMA 1:4-5.6 700-300mm lens...

08-25-2007, 08:12 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Weren't the TKD competitions indoors? Although our eyes don't often take much notice of it, there is a pretty large difference in the amount of light available between a nice sunny day outdoors and indoor environments.

What ISO were you using at the TKD competition? Boosting sensitivity is one way to help keep those shutter speeds up.

On the photo that used 1/50 shutter speed....what was the aperture (f-stop) that the camera selected for you?
08-25-2007, 09:34 PM   #3
Inactive Account

I can't see any pics.

I am right into martial arts and take my camera to tournaments when I am competing or if friends are. But I don't really have a fast enough lens in the length I need. Have just bought a M series 100 F2.8 which should help somewhat.