Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-24-2010, 09:55 AM - 1 Like   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
K-x versus K20D ISO test

OK, the first thing I have to say is that I am not a tester; I am a photographer. My typical way of testing a camera or lens is to use it for a while and see how I feel about the pictures. That said, I do see the value in more formal testing, and sometimes even dip a toe into that area myself. But please do not expect this to be as comprehensive and exacting as a lab might do.

However, I am curious as heck about my new K-x. This was generously provided by Pentax and Pentax Forums as a prize in the competition held earlier this year. Thanks to Adam for this!

Besides being compact and well-specified, the most interesting thing about the K-x is its high ISO noise handling, reputed to be better than any previous Pentax camera, including the top-of-the-line K-7. After using it a week I wanted to explore for myself, a bit more formally, these characteristics. Since I am intimately familiar with the K20D, the comparison was made with that camera. (I have used the K-7 only slightly.)

I shoot the K20D at ISO 200 and 400 most of the time, going up to 800 in a pinch. I generally do not bother with noise reduction, since I find the noise characteristics in that domain to be pleasing. I do have a licensed copy of Noise Ninja for higher ISO situations.

To test I used the FA43 at f/4, a wide enough aperture, but one at which the lens excels. I used a tripod with 2s shutter release (hence SR off) and chose a section of my bookshelf as a suitable target. I did this at night with one overhead light bulb -- a typical dark room scenario. The distance was about 1 meter.

In Av mode I started at the lowest sensitivity, 100, and changed by one stop (eg doubled) for each shot. I found that both cameras underexposed in this situation, and so dialled in a constant +1EV compensation.