Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-25-2010, 09:38 PM   #1

Europe Trip - Absolute newbie needs advice

Hey guys and girls, first and foremost i'm extremely jealous of you lot taht can take beautiful photos as it seems as hard i have no clue where to begin.

I'm hoping to change that on my trip to europe.

I currently have a k200d i purchased a while back that came with a 18-55 DA II lens.

Now i'll be heading to europe in january(winter time) and am hoping for any advice on lens i may need.

It would be for taking photos of the sights buildings and scenery, really just heading to the main touristy attractions.

I'm not looking to spend too much, hoping to keep it around $200 if possible.

On a side note, i am an absolute DSLR beginner and i pretty much shoot off auto. Would it be better for me to sell this and buy a high end p&s for around $500? Or add a half decent zoom lens if its possible for $200 to this kit?

Also any help with filters and such i'd need for i guess the lower light conditions during winter in Europe.

Basically ANY tips and help are appreciated.

11-25-2010, 10:35 PM   #2
hcc
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the forum. I think that you will be fine with the DA18-55mm. I do not think that you reallty need another lens unless you have a lens buying addiction (LBA)!

If you really wanted to purchase another lens, I would suggest a fast prime lens with large aperture (like a 50mm f1.4) for the low light conditions of European winter.
11-25-2010, 10:40 PM   #3
Veteran Member

For a trip like this and the type of shots that you mention I would personally not consider buying another lens. Your current lens is basically fine for the intended purpose.

If you intend to shoot buildings at night (e.g. eifel tower), get a decent tripod instead of another lens.

I know, I know ...