Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-09-2006, 11:00 AM   #1

metering with SMC-M lens

has anyone used fully manual lenses on a K10 or K100 yet? when i brought mine into B&H I was told I would need to use an external light meter since those lenses can't communicate with the camera. I found you just set the aperture ring to the one you want and then enter in the shutter accordingly. the 'aperture' field in the lccd is blank since it cant read the lens. then you focus and snap the pic. kind of like how i did it on the K1000 but without a meter. anyhow, has anyone done this with a handheld meter or just bracketed? me, i tend to have a vague idea of what the shutter/aperture should be and i will probably just bracket (i'm just a hobbyist/experimenter, not pro). when I purchase my camera (still have yet to decide) I will have kit lens to learn all the auto aspects, and 50mm/1.4, 28mm/2.8 manuals.

12-09-2006, 11:19 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
You can actually get your camera to automatically gauge the light level- no external meter is needed. When using the M lens, just set the mode to M, select your desired aperture with the aperture ring, and then stop the lens down. The camera will meter the light and display a value between -3 and 3, based on how bright/dark your shot would be. Now, simply adjust your shutter speed so that the number in the viewfinder is 0 (pic correctly lit) and shoot!

If you just leave your lens and the maximum aperture (i.e. 1.4) and leave the camera in P mode, it'll assume that's the aperture size and meter accordingly.

Hope this helps! The above technique works on all cameras, but on the *ist D and the K10D, you can also press the green button for the camera to immediately set the correct shutter speed. On the DS/DL/K100/K110, use the AE-L button instead.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)