Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-25-2008, 03:57 PM   #1

K10d? K200d?

Hi,

I've been tracking the various dslr models for a few months now, handled most of the cameras, and I'm getting pretty close on making a decision, but wanted to get some thoughts and opinions.

At this point I'm largely debating between getting a K10D body (~500 after rebate), or the K200D kit.

I'm definitely a novice when it comes to DSLRs, but am hoping to learn and do more. My only experience thus far has been my dad's Nikon D50.

So the questions I have are:

Is there anything that would actually be better in the K200D compared to the K10D? (Batteries and size aren't a big deal) I know this will speculative at this point, but given time constraints for the rebate etc, that's all I have.

Will either/both perform better than the Nikon D50?

As a novice, would the K10D be overkill from a complexity standpoint?

If I want to take just a quick picture with the K10D 'green mode', will I still get pretty good pictures? I've read some criticism of the in-camera jpeg rendering, but that all seems to be compared to other dslrs, if I use just typical P&S as my baseline, will the pictures be better or worse?

I also have my dad's old Nikon FT with some nice prime lenses, are there adapters available that would allow me to use the FL lenses on the Pentax cameras? (the lenses are manual focus to begin with, so I'm not concerned with that)

Thanks!!

Last edited by Edvard_Grieg; 01-25-2008 at 04:05 PM.
01-25-2008, 04:28 PM   #2
edl
Veteran Member

1. I personally don't see anything better in the K200D. I love the viewfinder of the K10D, it's much brighter than any pentamirror setup. Compare a D50 to a D80, you'll see what I mean.

2. Given higher MP and newer-gen technology of both Pentax bodies they should outperform the D50 from a technical standpoint.