Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-27-2008, 12:46 PM   #1

Advice for traveling

Just a little background, I am going to Germany in May with my college. I have a k100d super w/ the 18-55 kit lense, a manual focusing 100-300 f22-f5 plus about 4 other manual focus lenses at home. I have very little experience but understand the basics of photography. We will be visiting Hannover and Berlin for a total of 10 days. Some of our destinations are Bergin-Belson, a concentration camp, a soccer game, a medevil mystery dinner, the Volkswagen Headquarters, variuos castles, a german brewery, the Reichstag, which is the parliment building, brandenberg gate and obviously just walking/tour bus around in those cities.

EDIT : i have a 24mm f3.5-22, a 50mm f1.7-22, a 150mm f3.5-32 and then the 100-300mm is a f5-22

What I am wondering is what accessories/lenses do you think I will need to effectively get good pics?

I plan on buying a walk around lense, auto focus ~18 - ~200 lense, and a circular polarizer + step down rings so it fits all lenses. I'm not positive that I can use any of my dads older flashes or not.

thanks for any info you may be able to give me!

Last edited by wrxwheelman; 02-28-2008 at 06:30 PM.
02-27-2008, 01:16 PM   #2

I have the Pentax 18-250 lens and it's a great all purpose lens. Constantly changing lens gets to be a real pain when waling around and sightseeing etc. However, as I mentioned in another thread, vignetting occurs at the wide end when using a CP filter so I have to remove it when shooting below 25mm. Vignetting does not occur on my other zoom lenses that don't have such a wide spread (50-200, 19-35).
02-27-2008, 01:45 PM   #3
Veteran Member