Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-15-2008, 10:50 AM   #1

Front focusing while wide open???

I’m new to DSLR world and not sure if this is normal thing or some kind of AF problem. My K200D with DA 15-55 II lens attached front focuses on close shots when lens wide open. It’s not just soft, it’s definitely FF. I tried couple of tests and found that at max aperture (all focal lengths) it is 5-10 mm front focused, and focuses correctly when stopped down approximately 1 stop (sometimes 1 1/3). Particular numbers came from test I found here: Nikon D70 Focus Chart

I used to have DA 15-55 (not mark II) and did not notice any problems. However, with a new Mark II lens, I just got, focus on some of my “macro” shots is off. It’s especially evident when I shoot in Av mode and open lens all the way: many of the pictures not just soft, but focused on the wrong part of the subject. I haven’t noticed this with DA 55-300, but with min focusing distance of 1.4 m a few millimeters don’t make a big difference anyway.

I assume that AF is off, but I can really see it when lens is wide open and the depth of field id the shallowest. Is this a problem that I need to worry about or it’s just a normal practice?

Here is a sample image of what I described: http://www.aimagehosting.com/images/tr5nc0kypak89tf2wvb.jpg

Last edited by x_goal; 07-15-2008 at 11:46 AM.
07-15-2008, 01:42 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hmmm

From your description and test shots, if you did them "by the book", it seems your problem is of "back focus", not front focus. But to be honest, the sharpest (at wide open) seems to be around the 2 mm line, and probably between the target text line and the 2 mm line. As you stop down, the depth of field increases towards the back of subject (as it should).