Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-03-2008, 07:17 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
k10D metering with M lenses in M mode - K200D doing a better job w/ Green button

First off, I'm a rank amateur, so please take my comments in that vain. I've reviewed the 5 or so threads on this subject and have come away with the impression there's really no easy way to "green button" exposure as a proper exposure starting point with the K10D when using M lenses in M mode. Quite disappointing, actually. Here's my issue:

I recently picked up a used K10D. I am a K200D user. Using my Pentax 50mm 1.7 M lens with the K200d in M mode with the menu setting "use aperture ring", the exposure is spot on with the press of the green button across the apertures. In other words, to me, the shots seem to be exposed properly. I recently acquired a 28mm f/2.8 M lens and the K200D also gives the correct exposure with the press of the green button across all apertures.

Now on to the same set up with the K10D and same procedure. The K10D is 2 stops deficient underexposed when wide open or up to about f/5.6 on setting the exposure with the green button. Above f/5.6 stopped down, the metering is all over the place: good in some instances, overexposed in others and not consistent.

In one of the threads addressing this, it was said that one guy's M lenses metered better in the F8-11 range (maybe not exactly what he said, but close). I'm not finding this to be true with my K10D and my Pentax 50mm M f/1.7 lens. I'm having to adjust the shutter at a minimum two full stops slower to achieve a proper exposure and sometimes three stops when wide open.