Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
10-09-2008, 03:29 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Focus lock on subject

One of the tips given by experienced photographers for taking photos in a dim lit environment is to point the camera at an object that has more contrast than the subject of interest, then with the shutter button half-pressed, recompose the picture and then shoot.

Say I am going to take a portrait of a person but instead of focus locking on her eyes, I am focus locking on say another object of better contrast so that the AF can lock on. Would this technique not produce a shot whereby the person's eyes are not tact sharp, something which we all wanted to achieve in a portrait?

Sorry for asking this silly question. I am still a beginner.

10-09-2008, 04:53 AM - 1 Like   #2
PDL
Pentaxian

Why insist on haveing the camera refocus on every shot? Focus once and shoot many times.
De-couple AF from the shutter button, search the forum for instructions on how to do this - everything from the *istDS to the K20D.

Like most things - never accept the default as the best setup. It is difficult to be creative if all you do is use defaults.

The Elitist - formerly known as PDL
10-09-2008, 04:55 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
When I take pictures of people in very low light conditions, locking on to some high contrast area is often the only way to take the picture -- say the glint on a pair of ear rings. Sometimes focusing on the "line" formed by their head and the background will work.

Most of this is candid photos tho. If I was doing this in a controlled environment, I'd just use a flash light or some other light to acquire focus if I weren't using a flash.

And yes, you don't really get that 'focused on the eyes' look. But you get the picture.
10-09-2008, 06:58 AM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by raider Quote