Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-31-2007, 09:22 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Preflash?

Hi, i'm new to the k10 as you may know, but i bought an optical slave for my flashes and they are on their way but i may need to turn off the preflashes on my camera. any ideas on how to do this? i looked for a while and couldn't find anything. thanks

03-31-2007, 02:49 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
I'm 99.9% positive that you can't. That's the name of the game with P-TTL flash. The only external flash units that will work with the 10D would be the Pentax dedicated units, unless you use the hot shoe adapter and a regular sync cord with studio flash, but watch the trigger voltages.

Walt
03-31-2007, 04:46 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Original Poster
suddenly i once again regret joining this pentax thing...
03-31-2007, 05:31 PM   #4
clm

QuoteOriginally posted by brechdofragen Quote
Hi, i'm new to the k10 as you may know, but i bought an optical slave for my flashes and they are on their way but i may need to turn off the preflashes on my camera. any ideas on how to do this? i looked for a while and couldn't find anything. thanks

You could use any flash with a manual mode mounted on the camera's hot shoe to trigger the optical slave. Set camera to Manual and use guide number, flash meter, or experiment to get proper exposure.

03-31-2007, 07:41 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
with the 1.10 firmware update, if you set the pop up flash to wireless, it will fire only one flash. otherwise if it didn't, the preflash would trigger any wireless unit.
you could turn down the pop up just enough to trigger another flash if you don't like using the pop up as one of the main flashes.

hope this helps

randy
03-31-2007, 09:47 PM   #6
Inactive Account

Original Poster