Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-16-2010, 05:28 AM   #1
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Amateur advice needed

Hi all,

I've been shooting for a few years now. Started on my dad's old ME maybe three years back, had a couple of K lenses with that so decided on Pentax K100D when I first went digital. Shot with that for maybe 2 years, upgraded to a K20D in the summer. Now - I've always been decent as a visual arts type guys, sketching, painting and even photography - to a degree. Having said that, taking photos is definitely my 'weakest link' and I am no means a pro or gifted photographer.

So, I use the K20 for mostly 3 things: macro, family shoots, very rarely occasional birding/wildlife. I find that I miss taking videos for family affairs, and resort to using the old point n' shoot. So I'm thinking of the K-x downgrade from my K20D to gain the convenience of video.

I realize I'm giving up the weather sealing, AF per-lens adjustment (which I actually use), higher res sensor and the supposed superior ergonomics of the K20. But I don't think I'll need those things. Can I rely on the K-x's AF? How much cropping will I get for macros with 12Mp instead of 14Mp? I think 12Mp will still be alright. Any thoughts?

Has anyone ever taken a step backward like this and been happy about it? I don't want to step back only for video features and a lighter camera and be regretting the decision later on.

Last edited by firefly; 02-16-2010 at 09:13 AM.
02-16-2010, 07:39 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
joining this thread
02-16-2010, 09:19 AM   #3