Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-08-2010, 04:09 AM   #1

K-x shake - camera issue or poor technique?

I hate to add to the K-x mirror-slap scaremongering but I'm beginning to think I actually have an issue with mine. Having said that I'm new to SLR photography (I've had the camera for about three or four months) so I'm cognisant of the fact that the issue may well be with my technique and not with the camera. So I thought I'd let you more experienced lot decide for me.

Hopefully GIMP has saved the exif data but if not:

Pic 1: F11, 1/80, 32mm focus
Pic 2: F8, 1/100, 40mm focus
Pic 3: F10, 1/125, 55mm focus

Now it seems to me that with those sort of focal lengths and shutter speeds I should be able to get pretty sharp details, even as a beginner. All the pictures were taken using centre point focusing, and I've verified that SR was enabled for each one. This hasn't been an issue with all my shots but as far as I can tell I haven't had any issues with pictures shot at 1/160 or faster, irrespective of focal length (I also have the 50-200mm kit lens).

I know this has been gone over before, but what would be the best way of verifying if the fault lies with the camera? Taking dozens of hand-held shots at 1/80, 1/100 and 1/125 using the 2-second timer and comparing them to normally-taken pictures? Live view vs non-live view? Tripod (which I don't have, and may possibly dampen vibrations) vs hand-held? I'm going overseas in a few months so if I do have a problem that would be repairable under warranty I'd like to sort it out now, but I don't want to send the camera away if I don't have to.

Let me know if you'd like me to post further samples, and thanks in advance.

Edwin

Attached Images

View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-x  Photo   
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-x  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-x  Photo 
04-08-2010, 04:53 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums