Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-17-2012, 02:33 PM - 1 Like   #1
Closed Account

Spotmatic F sounds like its got mice inside

Perhaps it is supposed to sound like this?

This camera is new to me

Using shutter speeds of 1/30 and slower, when I release the shutter there is first the usual click but then followed by something I have not yet heard before: a distinct scratchy sound of parts moving . . . hard to describe, hence the title . . .

Using 1/60 and up it is totally gone

Sound familiar ?

03-17-2012, 02:53 PM   #2
Banned

I think it is the slow shutter gears that you are hearing. I'm not a technical expert, so I don't know all the proper terms, but in a mechanically controlled shutter system, the shutter speeds are timed by gears and on the slower shutter speeds the longer time allows you to hear the gears moving that control how long the shutter stays open. hopefully someone can explain it better, but I think you may get what I'm saying. to understand it best, you could simply remove the bottom plate and depress the shutter on a slow setting. and watch the gears moving and you will know what is making the sound.

in other words, what you are hearing is likely a completely normal sound for a mechanical camera.
03-17-2012, 03:12 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Like séamuis said, at low shutter speeds you should hear a whirring noise from the timing mechanism. If the shutter speeds seem to be correct everything is probably fine.
03-17-2012, 07:06 PM   #4
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

One more vote for slow shutter speeds. My KX does this as does my Mamiya 1000 DTL, Canon P, and recently acquired Pentax SV.

Steve

03-17-2012, 08:21 PM   #5
Veteran Member

It sounds like something I've also observed with mechanical SLRs. OTOH, it you could remove the bottom plate and check for mouse droppings.

John
03-17-2012, 08:46 PM   #6
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter