Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
02-27-2012, 10:31 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
k-7 with metz 54 mz-4i and just a hotshoe adapter....advice?

I have a metz 54 mz-4i with just the hotshoe adapter. Id love a pttl adapter, but they are $85. I will invest in one eventually, but in the meantime I just use the flash set to manual mode and try to match the focal length and aperture I'm running at. This generally works, but often the flash is too hot or not bright enough, so I'm almost forced to do test shots and adjust the ev compensation on theunit on the fly. I've found that running manual gives a lot more control over the x-sync. Ususally I lock shutter to 1/125 to 1/160. Any advice on how to improve my flash results with just a hotshoe would be appreciated. I'm really a newb when it comes to using flash as I have avoided it for many years because of my total disdain for it, but I am appreciating its utility in a lot of situations. Any advice would be great. Thanks. Sorry for any typos. Typed this on my phone.

EDITED: Updated to the right model name of the flash

Last edited by zosxavius; 02-27-2012 at 11:59 AM.
02-27-2012, 10:55 AM   #2