Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-21-2013, 12:47 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Problem with External Flash

I have a Bell & Howell external flash (model Z680AF-P) I use frequently with my K-x. But it does not work when mounted on my K-01 -- it either will not fire when the shutter is pressed or it goes into a delayed strobe mode. Is this flash unit incompatible with the K-01, or is there a special setting I need to use?

Mike

03-21-2013, 01:29 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hi Mike, I'm no flash expert but a couple of things you might look into.

First as far as I can tell this is a TTL flash, not P-TTL so it should only work in manual mode on the k-x. Is that what you are using it in?

And second have you tried manual flash settings on the k-01? Instead of automatic?

Hopefully someone else can chime in with more info. There is no reason I can think of that it should not work the same on the k-01 as on the k-x if you have the camera settings the same.
03-21-2013, 01:55 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Original Poster
The flash unit works in all modes with the K-x. I just mounted it again onto the K-01, where it only works in manual mode. (I had not tried it in manual mode before.) When I try it in any other mode on the K-01, it either does not fire at all or goes into a strobe mode after the shutter has fired.

Mike
03-22-2013, 04:47 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Flash Doesn't Work with K-01

Mike, I have a Rokinon D980AFZ-PK, which is identical to the Bell & Howell and others except in name. It exhibits the same characteristics as as you describe (strobe firing) when on the K-01, but does seem to work in manual mode. The flash works fine in P-TTL mode with the Pentax K-x and K20D.

03-22-2013, 08:26 AM   #5