Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-08-2013, 01:27 AM - 1 Like   #1

The K-3 finally has what I've been looking for in a DSLR.

1. New AF with genuine AF tracking.

Not just the focus, take a shot, re-focus, take a shot... AF-C action my K10D, K-7 and K-5 used to do.

Still have to see if the reality lives up to the promises, but a 27-AF point system is a big improvement over the 11-AF point system used previously, especially if the subject leaves the initial AF point and that the other AF points are used to keep it in focus by means of tracking the subjecy.

2. Better, 14-bit RAW files.

About time. Sure, 12-bit RAW is nice, but 14-bit allows for more color gradients, which helps pulling the most out of your digital image file.

3. Dual memory card slot.

As a pro photographer, I can't stress the importance of backup, and while it's possible to do that on a computer, there are times when it's not. Having a dual memory card slot is a good way to have my RAW files doubled for safety. Or to shoot RAW and JPEG without having to sort the pictures out in the end, in case my client wants a quick JPEG for press release after the event I shot.

The rest of the K-3's features are pretty much a case of "very good, but not a game-changer for me".

For instance, the wi-fi tethered support is a nice feature to have, but it only works with some mobile phones and tablets, not with computers. I'm still waiting for an USB tethered shooting feature from Pentax for studio use, but it's not like I can't live without this feature.

However, the "simulated AA filter" is a clever way to go around having two separate cameras, one that's AA filterless and the other that has an AA filter. Which one to choose? Hmm... Now you can have both in one camera. Kudos to the Pentax/Ricoh design team.